The power to decide an election petition for the State is vested in the ?

  1. Parliament
  2. Supreme Court
  3. High Courts
  4. Election Commission
Pushpendra Pal Dean Asked on 2nd November 2014 in Politics.
Add Comment
  • 2 Answer(s)

    Election commission is responsible for the election in India on national level or state level.

    Election commissioner is appointed by The President of India. Indian election commission was instituted on 25 January 1950. Present time in election commission there is one chief election commissioners and two election commissions. The tenure of chief election commissioner is 6 years.

    Since 16 January 2015, Mr. H.S Brahma (19 March 1950) assumed the post of Electoral Officer after the retirement of V.S Sampath (complete the age 65 years) and became the 19th chief election commissioner. Mr. H.S Brahma appointed as an election commissioner in March 2009. He also has held several administrative post Government of India or state Government.

    Pushpendra Pal Dean Answered on 8th February 2015.
    Add Comment

    Some people are also saying that it is High Court of the state. I am in doubt, anyone please clarify.

    Pushpendra Pal Dean Answered on 15th February 2015.
    Add Comment

    Your Answer

    By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.